All you need is the plan, the road map, and the courage to press on to your destination.

It was a bitter sweet victory today. Its been a while since I really felt like I had some decent answers to all my questions. Today was diffrent it feels like  a great weight has been lifted off my shoulders. A huge part of me did not want to see that Jasmyne had ADHD it felt like agreeing with all the doctors meant I was admitting defeat. A big part of me, and I do mean a BIG part of me wanted to just forget about this and act like everything was fine. That there were no issues in class, that there were no issues at home that my daughter was totally perfect in every way possible. The stigma that I had glued to ADHD was appalling, and to all the mothers out there who have dealt with this every day I do apologize. What I believed ADHD was last year and what I know it is now are two entirely diffrent things.

So what do I know about it so far?

I know now that its not caused bypoor parenting or an unstable homelife alothough this could make things worse for the child. I know that sugar could be a trigger but its not the cause. I know that this would happen even in the most promineta schools and has nothing to do with the teachers ability to teach. I know that TV wont cause this either. In excess these things would make things more difficult but they would not be the cause.

There is more i have leaned and there is more than I do need to learn. At least we have a way forward and I am feeling very positive at the moment.

3 Responses to “All you need is the plan, the road map, and the courage to press on to your destination.”

  1. glad you have a plan, that’s always a good thing 🙂

  2. Being and staying positive is key for you to open your mind to learn more and therefore give more to Jazz. The road map and the plan make you almost half way there…

  3. You have a good attitude and your heart is in the right place. You will be fine through this. *hugs*

    I am meeting with Q’s teacher this week because she is worried he is not coping in Grade 4.. I have no idea what she is going to suggest but it is worrying.

Leave a Reply

