Did you ever wonder if the person in the puddle is real, and you’re just a reflection of him?

I was going to post about Vaughn staying at home today, how  it was quite a blessing for me since today I was rather busy.

I was going to share how impressed I am with how he managed to play house day on his day off and how he started by getting Jasmyne ready for school. How he remembered the show and tell and managed to give Jazz a good explanation on weavers  and their nests and then still packed the swimming gear before heading off to school! He even managed a brief meeting with her teacher about our idea on using a stress ball in class during lessons and how we believe it could help in class.

I probably would have gone into detail about I arrived to CLEAN HOUSE, the lasagna was in the oven baking, Jasmyne had put together the garlic rolls and Abigail was in the process of setting the table.

If I had not turned on the TV when I did I would have probably gone into detail about making a dash to the school for the first PTA meeting, which left Vaughn to help Jazz finish her home work, make sure both kids brushed teeth and read to them before bed.

But I did turn on the TV when I did and what I saw numbed me to the core. Oprah had a show about super moms who make mistakes not just burn the toast before breakfast mistakes. Mistakes that cost lives. Mistakes that can not be fixed no matter how super these moms are. I was busy packing my bags to run out to my meeting when something in me just said stop. I walked over to the TV and slowly felt my bag slipping to the floor. I was still listening with one ear on the TV and the other on the kids when I realised I was probably watching myself on TV. A me that had managed to get lucky thus far. I do try be all that, I work hard at being the best mom I can be the bar has been set very high by ME and only me.

It was one of those fluorescent light bulb moments for me as I realised that joining the PTA this year would not be a good choice. No one would benefit from this choice. My kids dont need a mother who can do it all they need a mother who can love them more. It was so easy to understand that how come I had never seen it before!

So I wont join the PTA this year I will rather spend my evenings at home reading books to my girls and baking muffins. At school functions I wont be the mother selling tickets and refreshments I will be the mother in the photos with my children! When it comes to rasing funds I will be the mother who hands over R50 to the school and runs off to play with the kids. And guess what? There will be no guilt not one inch. And you know why? Beacuse I know I have made my choices and the real super moms of the world have made theirs. So tonight I am packing up my cape, for good. Who wants to be a super hero anyway ….

5 Responses to “Did you ever wonder if the person in the puddle is real, and you’re just a reflection of him?”

  1. Woohoo Nash, seriously PTA and other things can very easily be left to the moms who don’t work… their kids are at school for most of the day anyway 🙂

  2. This is so well-written Nash. And this decision makes you a BRILLIANT MUM. Your girls will not remember how much effort you put in for their school or how much money you made at the cake sale – they’ll remember all the kewl times you spent with THEM instead. What girl does NOT want to spend time with her mum?

  3. You don’t have to be a super mom to the world Nash, you’re already a super mommy to your girls ~ and that’s all that matters. 🙂

  4. I totally agree!

  5. I always say my ‘laziness’ is my saving grace. I am not a perfectionist and so good enough is good enough for me. It makes life much easier. You can’t be all things to all people.

Leave a Reply

