Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some sort of battle

I was reading up on children learning to build relationships at school when I came across this quote. Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some sort of battle.

This quote really made me sit back and think about how I present myself to people during the day. I often wonder if the person they see is the person I really am or if they just assume I am a certain type of person just because of how I come across to them. I understand that first impressions count but what about last expressions. Do you ever really get a chance to go back and change that?

The other thing about this quote that had me thinking was that even with people we know, is it really that difficult to try, understand where they are coming from. To just give that other person the space and understanding they need because they really could be fighting a battle you know nothing of. I think that often it is to easy to make assumptions based on choices you would make rather than waiting it out to see how the cards fall.

I suppose the only way to really understand this quote is to give it a try. Just give everyone the benefit of the doubt and trust them with out them having to ask you. It is always easy to run someone down but how long does it take to help build them up again.

I am off to spend the evening with Edward and a cup of tea now at least he gets me *grin*

3 Responses to “Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some sort of battle”

  1. That is so so true nash, i often look around me at ppl and wonder whats their story – even with friends, because i don’t think those fighting a battle shares the true extent of it…i know i don’t i feel silly

  2. What an inspiring and thought provoking post Nash. I really enjoy reading your blog. :)

  3. I can relate to this. People’s first impressions of me are usually exactly the opposite of what I actually am. You and I are perfect examples of that Nash. My first impression of you was totally different to who you actually are.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

