Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.

I rather enjoyed our evening last night, Jasmyne and I set up a lovely table outside while Vaughn worked in the garden. Just as we sat down for dinner the sky turned into beautiful shades of pinks and orange. It was really special to see it for just a few moments before the sun set. Evening dinners are one of my favorite times of the day. I marvel on how much conversation we are able to squeeze into one hour.

Jasmyne, bless her little heart spent the day making cards for the people I work with. I was given strict instructions to take them to work today and place the cards on each individuals desk. Abigail, has been a little offish decided that she would only have ice cream for dinner. I have a feeling we can expect more teeth to appear very soon. Vaughn is hunting down a new car. He seems to have taken a liking to the Chevrolet Lumina UTE. http://www.chevrolet.co.za/content_data/LAAM/ZA/en/GBPZA/001/images/colors/1G/Phantom_Metallic.jpg

I am planning my first sewing project. This is going to be rather daunting. I plan to sew a quilt. Who would have thought me and a sewing machine surrounded with bits of material and pins. I have a block quilt in mind for Jasmynes bedroom.
http://www.treehouse.co.za/items/1225357281-0837.jpg

Sitting on the patio this morning watching the sun rise I took a few moments to reflect on the year that has passed. My three cats Mango, Meow Meow and Ninja joined me. I wonder if they were reflecting too or perhaps they were spying out the birds in the garden …
I would like to think that all that has taken place, has made me a stronger person even if getting through it all was rather difficult. I have been so privileged to experience 2008 with all its highlights and low lights.

Its amazing how this one night brings excitement to people around the world. When the clock strikes 12 everyone is filled with hope, there is a sense of anticipation as new day becomes a new year. We are going to seeing in the new year with family. Vuk and Novak and kindly invited us to their new place for a braai.

I am pretty much geared up for the new year I have my budgets and meal plans, list of things to do and lists of things to start and most of all I have the courage to try again. That is what its all about, getting up dusting your knees and carrying on and who knows, maybe just maybe this time you get it right.

2 Responses to “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.”

  1. harassedmomsramblings Says:

    This is a lovely post Nash!!!

    And you are so right – all we can do is get up and try again until we get it right!!

    And last night was very pretty outside!!

  2. pennedown Says:

    This is really sweet.

Leave a Reply

